Growing through the Storm

BOOK REVIEW: Growing through the Storm

I love reading memoirs as it gives us a sneak peak into the life of other people and we can learn from their experiences. This time, I got my hands on Sheila Malsam’s book “Growing through the Storm”. One day, Sheila heard her mom saying “Your father and I are hurting 

to see you hurting”. To see her parents in pain, Sheila was broken. 

Sheila first married Brad, a guy who lived near her house and was committed to farm life. After their marriage, Sheila saw Brad was more committed to the farm and then in downtime, he spent time with his friends. Sheila realized she was in the backseat in Brad’s life. I could feel her pain as I was once in a short term relationship with one such guy who had never put me as his priority. Sheila was already doubting this when she was getting married to Brad. 

This incident from her life taught me to trust our instincts. While entering a relationship or marriage, if we feel something isn’t right, then we shouldn’t take things forward. 

Like the author has mentioned, God makes us stronger through pain. Sometimes, in life pain is necessary for us so we can see the people for who they are instead of having an innocent heart. This book made my faith in God stronger. As the author has mentioned, God doesn’t give us dreams to take them back from us. From today, I will continue to hold on to my dreams until they come true. Also, I will be patient and not question God. Instead, I will pray. After reading this book, I felt as if God talked to me through the author’s journey. This is a well written book. I am sure readers would take away something useful from this book. 

Rating: 5/5

Leave a comment